Facebook has updated its app’s Android version to allow users to decide themselves which of their location data to be sent and stored by the social network when the app is not in the use.
Announcing the update on Wednesday in a blog post, Paul McDonald, Facebook’s engineering director said that the update provide the users a dedicated way to choose whether or not to share their location when they are not using the app. The app will be sharing user’s location while not being in use and that information will be allowed to Facebook for storing precise location, once a user enables the setting.
In case when user disables the setting, then the app, when not in use, will not share the location data, but it will be when they start using the app.
Previously, unlike the option available in iPhone to allow an app to location data only at the time of its usage, was not available to Facebook’s Android users but only to choose between turning on or off the location service. The location data was not been shared with the app when set to turn-off irrespective of the user using the app or not, whereas when it was set to turn-on, the app was allowed to share the location data of user whether using the app or not, which means that the Facebook was been receiving a constant stream of precise location data of all those users who turn-on the setting and that immense amount of location data gave the Facebook a potential to view the in depth details of user’s location along with day to day activities.
Current setting will not be changed with the update and location data of users who had already turn-on the location history will continue to be sharing unless it has been disabled by the user, but such users will expected to be receiving a message from the company informing them to have a choice to change the app’s privacy settings, McDonald said.